20
Sep
07

Various Artists – 100% Dynamite

zz100dynamiteskasoulr_101b.jpg

One of the biggest challenges I’ve faced as a DJ is learning about new musical genres…and by new I mean genre’s I know nothing about.

Take reggae for example.  There was a time when I knew practically nothing about it with the exception of Bob Marley.  I had no friends who knew crazy amounts of reggae or anything…so I had little options.  What to do?

It’s here that the DJ’s biggest friend, the compilation , comes in.  A good compilation record will expose you to a wide variety of artists and styles, while a bad compilation will just give you a pile of shit.

Enter Soul Jazz Records…the undisputed kings of compilations.  Browse their catalog…go ahead…I dare you.  See anything interesting?  Buy it.

Why?  Because with Soul Jazz you always get the bomb.  Be it reggae, New Orleans Funk, Soul, or Brazilian music they will not let you down.

I picked up the 100% Dynamite, a collection of stellar funk ska and soul from Jamaica back around 1999 and I never put it down. They got The Marvel’s ‘Rock Steady,’  Willie Wiliiam’s hit ‘Armageddon Time’ and my favorite track… Johnny Osborne’s “We Need Love.’ (hear below) I became obsessed and had to buy everything they put out for years before I could calm down about these guys.  The Dynamite series is now up to 600% Dynamite and I highly recommend all the volumes.

It’ll fill out your collection and your knowledge nicely.

Amazon has copies but they’re a little pricey.

Might have to go elsewhere…

0 Responses to “Various Artists – 100% Dynamite”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

