25
Sep
07

Sublime – 40 oz to Freedom

A few years back,  Rolling Stone did a huge article about the hundred greatest albums of all time and I was really pissed that Sublime’s 40oz to Freedom got no mention.

Then I remembered that Rolling Stone was old and outdated and hadn’t done or said anything new or exciting in years.

But, man do I love this album…and I mean that in a way completely contrary to the psuedo Sublime-heads who suddenly appeared after Bradley OD’ed.

Someone tossed this on at a party at our dorm back in sophomore year and I was hooked. I can listen from front to back with no skipping…even on the hardcore punk tunes…and I don’t even like punk.  I remember telling my friend Alyssa about this album and she said:

“Don’t they do that stupid date rape song?”

Yes.  Yes they do…but there is more.

Long story short, I made her come over and played the entire album for her…then the follow up Robbin’ the Hood (almost as good…just a little uneven) and she was hooked.

Formed in Long Beach,  the trio of Bud Gaugh, Brad Nowell and Eric Wilson formed loosely in high school before coalescing in college to become Sublime.  Their first gig was in 1988 at a small Long Beach club which led to the infamous Peninsula Riot, culminating in several arrests.  It was this kind of atmosphere that the band drew upon and seemed to thrive on.  In fact, they spent the next few years honing their skills at various parties around the south bay.

They became “THE” band.  the guys who played for free beer and not much else, and it was that feeling that helped form the basis for their sound.  They recorded and released “40oz To Freedom” in 1992, and sold it mostly out of their trunk after shows.  Their fan base began to grow, eventually taking off when KROQ started playing ‘Date Rape’ on the radio. This is probably one of the coolest and most energetic album ever made.

I imagine one day it will make the list, but I have my own list so go to hell Rolling Stone.

0 Responses to “Sublime – 40 oz to Freedom”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS FEED


