24
Mar
08

John Lee Hooker – Free Beer and Chicken

hooker.jpg

I like the Blues more than most do and I have made it a hobby to collect as much as possible, although my taste has always leaned towards the old stuff.

I was browsing the hallowed pages of DustyGroove one day when they put up this 1974 John Lee Hooker album that I had never heard of…and I was intrigued enough to buy it.

True to their review, this album doesn’t sound like his others.  It’s raw…dirtier, and far funkier than any of the rest.  Driving drums and fuzzed out guitar riffs all over the place.  I especially love ‘Make it Funky’, ‘714 Blues’ and “One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer.’  Just so you know, the version on this album is better than the video below, but that was the closest thing I could find.  I added the better version below.  Ha! Take that mediocrity!

This is the shit pure and simple.  The only album I know of that comes close is Etta James ‘ Come a Little Closer.’ (I’ll save that for a later post)

So, do yourself a favor and check it out…if you can find a copy.

UPDATE:  I am currently checking my old posts and adding new and updated videos where I find them!

3 Responses to “John Lee Hooker – Free Beer and Chicken”


  1. 1 sassumi
    October 9, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Do you know which musicians play on the album? In particular, who plays electric violin and who sings in the last track?


Leave a Reply

