28
Mar
08

DJ Z-Trip & DJ P – Uneasy Listening Vol 1

uneasy.jpg

Ah…the opening shot that began the mash-up craze on the late 90’s/early 00’s.  ( I guess that’s what we call ’em…the 00’s?!?)  I picked up my copy when Z Trip opened for DJ Shadow and Cut Chemist for the Product Placement Tour.  I then got really drunk and passed out on Dana’s couch.  When I awoke in the morning, hung-over and groggy I popped this in my CD player for the long drive home…after which I didn’t stop driving till it ended.

I know a lot of people already know about this, but a lot of people don’t.  I readily accept that these people don’t have a ginormous mixtape collection like I do, but it’s never to early to start.

When you open the jewel case (this is if you have a legit copy and not one someone burned for you) the CD says “THIS IS THE BEST CD I OWN.”

I like that.

What this mixtape truly excels at, though is innovation.  Z and P had been dropping stuff like this into their shows for years already when they decided to do a mix that was nothing but blends.  And not just a song thrown over a beat, but multiple layers, scratched and cuts. When this tape dropped in 1999, it truely was a whole new game.

It’s got Bruce Hornseby’s “That’s Just the Way It Is” mixed with RUN DMC’s “It’s Like that.”  Midnight Oil’s “Bed’s are Burning” over the top of Metallica’s “One” The Beatles, Jobim, AC/DC, Madonna and the Eagles all show up this party.

Recorded over the course of a week (On real records…no pro tools, fools!) they figured it was kind of a fun experiment, and didn’t expect the slew of imitators it would spawn.  True, the UK kind of had their own thing called bastard pop, led by the likes of Freelance Hellraiser,  Frenchbloke and Osymyso…but still nothing here came close.

I was at the fist and last live performance (I think there was one more in SF)  where Z and P did the whole thing live and it was a sight to see.  After that Z blew up a bit, riding the wave of publicity and had kind of a falling out with P…negating the chance of Vol 2 ever being made.

At least for now.

BTW:  Feel free to download the whole thing off Z-Trip’s site HERE!  Below you’ll find an excerpt that was played over some electronic show stills by Andy Batt.  Well done Andy!

2 Responses to “DJ Z-Trip & DJ P – Uneasy Listening Vol 1”


  1. 1 John McCain
    October 30, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    Guess I suck cause I have a burned copy from the website, I’m not an elitist like yourself 🙂

  2. November 5, 2008 at 12:07 am

    Damn it John, I thought we agreed to leave our blogs out of this!

    – Obama


Leave a Reply

