18
Apr
08

Bob Marley – Babylon by Bus

The problem with Greatest Hit’s albums are that they give a false impression to folks, who are led to believe that they have have all they need from that artist.

The worst of the offenders is that damn “Bob Marley: Legend” album.

I almost laughed aloud when I was watching “I Am Legend” the other day ( and not just because the movie was ridiculous) when Will Smith goes into his diatribe about how great Bob Marley is, and how great his music is…and apparently the only CD he had was “Legend.”  Now, maybe the filmmakers were trying to tie it all in to the title of the movie, but give me a f’ing break why don’t ya?

Released in 1978, “Babylon by Bus” is the quintessential live Marley album.  Some will say that 1975’s “Bob Marley: Live” is the real deal, and they would be right as well…but this one is my favorite.  It may not have been as inspired a show, but the band that is playing on ‘Babylon’ is much tighter and more mature…and it shows.  This album just makes you feel better…even if you are headed to work at 6:30 in the morning,,, and you’re hungover ’cause your friends challenged you to have a few more Patron shots to end the night, and then you one upped them by buying a round of Pyrat shots.  Take that, losers!

Recorded during the “Kaya” tour at the Pavillion de Paris, it really catches the artist and the band in prime form all the way through.  Sure you get hits like ‘Jamming,’ ‘Exodus’ and ‘Stir it Up’…but you also get oldies like ‘Punky Reggae Party’ and the monstrous ‘War/No More Trouble’ to really seal the deal.

The album was recently reissued and can be got for like, $10 now…which is a bargain for a 73 minute live show.

BONUS!!!  If you can find the original double vinyl copy, the windows on the bus are cut out to show the sleeve underneith.  So depending on how you feel, you can change the scene!  Try and do that with a CD cover!

4 Responses to “Bob Marley – Babylon by Bus”


  1. 1 egoassassin
    April 19, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Amen. I have been saying this for years, but no one listens except for people who realize that there are hundreds of amazing songs from Bob. Not to mention the several old school ska songs he did with the wailers. Cheers! Dig the blog.

  2. April 20, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    Thanks! I’d like to think so as well…next up I’m going to throw down some of Bob’s early work with Lee Perry! Soul Rebels, maybe?

    No, Soul Rebels…definitely!

  3. 3 Markie Raye
    January 12, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Yes I. This has always been my favourite live recording of Bob and the Wailers. Every time I play it I feel I am there. You can feel the music. The Wailers are playing as if the Heavenly host is in the audience, tight and right!!!I always wish it was filmed, in fact, I got to this site right now hoping to find a film of it or at least photos of te venue Pavillion de Paris where most of it was recorded in 1978, June (25 – 27 I think) I remember the first time I heard it playing from a record shop on Rosemarie Avenue in Morant Bay St Thomas Jamaica when it was first released in 1978 (November) I was a teenager then. I stopped and listened to as much of it as they played, then vowed to get me one. I got my first copy many years ago on cd and I just can’t get tired of it. The Rastaman Vibration is Positive!!!!

  4. 4 Markie Raye
    January 12, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Babylon by Bus has always been my favourite live performance recording of Bob and the Wailers You get the Wailers in what sounds like perfection. I have loved it since I first heard it in 1978 at a record shop on Rosemarie Avenue in Morant Bay St. Thomas Jamaica back in ’78-’79. I always feel I am at the venue when I play it. If anyone has a film of this show please share, or even photos of the venue. Jah Live children!!!


Leave a Reply

