22
Apr
08

Toncho Pilatos – Toncho Pilatos

So I’m continuing my series with another self titled album today.  This time, I give you Toncho Pilatos!

Taaa Daaa!

I tried to find out more about these guys but most of the material out there isn’t in English…and the internet translation service kind of loses something in the translation. I wish I had taken Spanish instead of French in High School, but at the time I thought French would make me more popular with the ladies.

It didn’t.

I wound up with this after a music trade with some insane collector over the internet and my first reaction was “Aw crap, what the hell did he slip in here?” You see, strangely enough, I actually get mad when people try and give me music. Not because I don’t appreciate it, but it’s just that I have a hard enough time keeping up with my own tastes, let alone someone else’s. So anyway,  I’m looking at the cover art and I figure it might be worth it just for that alone.

WRONG.

Take all the stuff going on in the UK music scene around 1971:  psyche, blues, heavy rock, Jethro Tull, Rolling Stones, Can or Led Zeppelin. Now mix ’em all together and transplant them to Mexico and you have Toncho Pilatos.  That’s it in a nut shell.  The only real difference is that they have substituted medieval and fantasy imagery with pyramids and Aztecs.  Below you’ll find a great track off the album called ‘Blind Man.’  Just check out the face melting guitar near the end.  I wish I could find a decent stream of a harder song because there are a bunch on this album like ‘Dejenla en Paz’ which has an insanely funky drum break in it.

What most people are unaware of is how huge the Mexican Rock scene was at the time, and how utterly awesome it was as well.  If you are interested in more stuff like this, I recommend:

“Love, Peace & Poetry – Mexican Psychedelic Music” by Tommy Lyz
or
“Chicano Power: Latin Rock in the USA 1968-1976” on the Soul Jazz Label

2 Responses to “Toncho Pilatos – Toncho Pilatos”


  1. 1 Jaime F Gonzalez
    May 12, 2008 at 2:47 am

    Yep,You are actually right,there was (and is) a great influx of mexican rock bands from the sixties,seventies,eighties and so on to this day.They were little known outside of Mexico (Toncho being the exception to the rule because Polydor was a major record label in the world at that time and Toncho Pilatos was the only mexican band signed ).I reccomend a video on You Tube from the band PERRO FANTASTICO Cazador de Lagartijas. it contains some of the advertisements of the day which show some of the bands that played in the seventies on the mexican rock scene.Please feel fre to e-mail me and I will gladly do my best to help you translate and give some more info on the subjet.

  2. May 12, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    Thanks Jamie! I’ll check it out and let you know!


Leave a Reply

RSS FEED


