15
Apr
09

Lykke Li – Youth Novels

lykkeGood news for my living room!  the closet guy is here and installing my brand new closet as I write this!

This is great news for my stuff, since most of it has been living in my living room for the last month or so.  It’s even better news for me because i get my living room back!  Sure, I’ll miss the little trails I’ve made through the piles of crud, but soon that crud will be replaced by glorious, glorious space!

So, that’s one less thing to worry about I guess.  Next up, formatting my computer!

Yeah, that’s gonna be a hoot.

So I was thinking that I’ve been stuck in retro mode lately on the posts.  Not that old music is bad, but I feel like sping time is here and i should throw out some new ish for the folks…which brings me to our latest offering.  One of my top albums of 2008, Lykke Li’s “Youth Novels.”

Her real name is Li Lykke Timotej Zachrisson (it’s a mouthful, I agree, but she’s Swedish and also a stone cold fox so I’m gonna let it pass) and was born in Sweden in 1986 to a painter mother and a musician father.  She moved around alot through her life, living on a Portugese mountaintop, Lisbon, Morocco and winters in India and Nepal.  All told it seems to have produced a well rounded young singer, although she says her sound was mostly influenced by the solitude in Sweden above all else.

In fact, growing up she didn’t want to be a singer…that came later.  All she knew was that she wanted to be an artist in something, and luckily for us she chose music.

She arrived in New York at age 19 for a three month visit and returned two years later to record this album under the production skills of Bjorn Yttling of Peter, Bjorn and John fame.  In 2007 she released the heavily slept on “Little Bit EP” that, if nothing else put her on the radar.  Of it’s four tracks, three ended up on “Youth Novels.”

I like a good pop female vocalist as much as the next guy, but really good new ones are hard to come by.  So when I picked up the album and tossed it into my play list for the day, I wasn’t expecting to like it as much as I did.  Dreamy vocals of liquid sunshine over sparse folksy beats make it as uplifting as it is intriguing.  You’ll hear dashes of psyche, electronic, rock  and indie sounds throughout the album…but the work still seems unified.

I’ve heard her compared to other Swedish imports like Robyn, but I kind of think she’s like a Swedish Feist more than anything else.  I’m gonna keep my fingers crossed she does a Sesame Street cameo as well…cause I love that shit.  Apparently Lykke Li is working on a second album at the moment, but says it’ll be a while before we hear any of it.

Until then I’ll be waiting!

0 Responses to “Lykke Li – Youth Novels”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

